Share This!

The mission of the Mayor’s Fitness Council Healthy Schools Committee is to improve nutrition and physical activity through school-based programs and through the promotion and support of the Mayor’s Fitness Council Student Ambassador and Student Mentor Programs. Also through a partnership with the Baptist Health Foundation of San Antonio, the Mayor’s Fitness Council has focused on launching and implementing KSHAC’s – Kids School Health Advisory Councils within Bexar County Independent Schools Districts.

At monthly Healthy Schools Committee meetings Bexar County ISD administrators and community partners join together to collaborate on hosting Healthy Schools Summits, Specialty Forums, Workshops and sharing best practices.

The Healthy Schools Committee is led by the following Chairs and Committee Members:
Beveylon Concha, Co-Chair – Judson ISD
Mandy Adkins, Co-Chair – San Antonio Sports
Mandy Tyler, MFC Full Council Chair – ESC Region 20

Quiana Abner – Joint Base Command
Dr. Frank Alfaro – Alamo Heights ISD
Patricia Alvarez – ESC Region 20
Dorothea “Dolly” Armstrong – Harlandale ISD
Jenny Arrendondo – San Antonio ISD
Veronica Ball – Archdiocese of San Antonio
Denise Benoit-Moctezuma – Metro Health
Andrea Bottiglieri – MFC Staff, Metro Health
Katy Bowen – CHEF – Culinary Health Education for Families
Nancy Britton – East Central ISD
Adela Castillo – Edgewood ISD
Dr. Langston Clark – UTSA
Alfredo Concha – Lackland ISD
Nicole Davis – Harlandale ISD
Latissa Eisenberg – Brooks Collegiate Academy
Randy Escamilla – Southside ISD
Dr. Elia Escaname – University of Texas Health Science Center
Dr. Lana Fratzen – DairyMAX
Dr. Michael Fischbach – Retired – University of Texas Health Science Center
Nadia Gaona – Metro Health
Alyssa Garza – San Antonio ISD
Annette Gettinger – Harlandale ISD
Sharon Glosson – North East ISD
Tina Guerro – Ft. Sam Houston ISD
Angie Gutierrez – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
Cara Hausler – Metro Health
Daliene Hendon – Girls on the Run
Ashley Hernandez – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
Sandra Hernandez – Southwest ISD
Keith Higginbotham – Somerset ISD
Pam Kniffin – Northside ISD
Danielle Leon – Northside ISD
Dr. Sandra Lopez-Morales – St. Mary’s Hall
Terri Mabrito – NAMI San Antonio
Mary Kate Martin
University of Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health
Dyanne Martinez-Munoz – South San ISD
Cynthia Moczygemba – Randolph Field ISD
Veronica Montalvo – Archdiocese of San Antonio
Jennifer Montes – Harlandale ISD
Rachel Naylor – North East ISD
Tori Parsons – CHEF – Culinary Health Education for Families
Alexis Phelps – CHEF – Culinary Health Education for Families
San Antonio Botanical Gardens
Bert Pickell – San Antonio Walks
Isabel Ramos-Lebron – San Antonio Food Bank
Debra Rice – Southwest ISD
Roger Rodriguez – Retired (SAISD)
Caroline Roffidal-Blanco – American Diabetes Association
Roxanne Ruiz – Edgewood ISD
Monica Ruiz-Morin – ESC Region 20
Raul Salazar – San Antonio ISD
Rachel Salinas – KLRN Public Television
Rich Scott – Rise Recovery
Holly Stojanik – DairyMAX
Elizabeth Trevino-Narezo – Social & Health Research Center
Dr. Robert Trevino – Social & Health Research Center
Peter Wagner – Southwest ISD
Ariane Williams – Common Threads
Colin Williams – Ft. Sam Houston ISD
Robert Zamora – South San ISD
Cassie Zapata – Jubilee Academies

Congratulations to North East ISD – Top Metro District Winner in the State of Texas through the It’s Time Texas Community Challenge!

Through the Mayor’s Fitness Council and Baptist Health Foundation partnership, six KSHAC’s – Kids School Health Advisory Council’s have been launched at the following Bexar County Independent School Districts: